top of page
iStock-1247171756.jpg


夏季写作竞赛营

夏季写作竞赛营

今年的夏季iBridge Education开设的写作工坊将着重指导学生完成一篇优秀的作品,用于参加包括Scholastic Art & Writing Awards,YongArts在内的写作竞赛。学生将从写作工坊得到多方面的协助和指导,他们完成的作品也可以用于投稿其他期刊或者写作竞赛。写作营仿照常青藤大学研究生水平的写作研究,既适合初学者,也适合那些已经熟悉写作练习的人。我们将专注于写作技巧,通过每周的阅读、写作练习和讨论,探索选定的文体和写作过程。学生还将参加研讨班,帮助他人提高写作水平并获得对自己作品的反馈。每班限制六名学生,以确保每位学生都能获得充分的关注。

写作工坊还有一个非常有益于学生写作的特点:课程效果将通过视频课程和反馈得到加强。老师在课堂上的教授具有挑战性(但适合各年龄的)的故事,同时也经常教授年代更久远的经典作品。为了帮助学生解决这些故事在词汇和风格上呈现的困难,老师将录制动态阅读视频,在视频中会大声朗读故事,同时定义术语,解释历史背景,研究风格和主题。

 

学生应预计在课间至少投入两到三小时做作业。这包括每周的短篇阅读(大约30分钟)以及撰写故事和/或完成写作练习的时间。

Miss Cat和Tony凭借他们独特的视角和教学风格,为学生提供全面而丰富的写作体验。加入我们的文学旅程,探索叙事的细微差别,提升写作技能,并释放每个故事中的潜力。换欢迎报名!

每期写作工坊包括:

  • 10节线上课程教学,每节1.5小时,总计10周,15小时课时

  • 6个具有挑战性的短篇小说阅读作业,并配有视频讲解

  • 每节课均有录像回放,提供给错过课程的学员

  • 1小时的线上课程来讨论写作作品

  • 1.5小时 1对1作品修改(可通过线上会议进行作品修改或线下修改)

  • 课程期间email沟通和答疑

  • 导师推荐的可投稿期刊和竞赛列表

Cat Photo.JPG

​导师介绍

Miss Cat 是一位专业小说作家和写作导师,有超过15年的经验,帮助各个年龄段的学生提高他们的写作。作为一名专业的大学申请文书写作导师,她帮助学生获得了许多顶尖大学和商学院的录取,包括哈佛大学、耶鲁大学、达特茅斯学院、宾夕法尼亚大学和斯坦福大学。在过去的两年里,她一直在指导初中和高中学生进行创意写作,并指导多名学生投稿Scholastic Art & Writing Awards并获得优异成绩。

 

她以优异成绩获得哈佛大学音乐和英语学士学位,并获得哥伦比亚大学创意写作硕士学位,在哥伦比亚大学担任De Alba研究员和本科教学研究员。她曾在《Action, Spectacle!》、《The South Dakota Review》和《The Missouri Review》等期刊发表作品。2019年,她获得了《The Missouri Review》年度最佳故事奖(Peden Prize)。她目前仍在创作自己的小说,由文学经纪公司Janklow and Nesbit代理。

Tony.jpeg

​导师介绍

Tony 老师毕业于美国顶尖文理学院 Amherst College,他在全美顶尖写作硕士项目 IOWA 大学获得创意写作硕士学位。Tony 曾在 IOWA 写作项目荣获杰出教学奖项,他的专业经验和杂志编辑背景为学生提供了独特的指导视角。 

周日写作营课程表

Sunday Class Schedule.png

周三写作营课程表

Wednesday Class Schedule.png

为什么选择写作工坊?

研讨会的形式仍然是美国本科和研究生水平的大多数创意写作教学的基本形式,它也是小学写作教学中很流行的一种形式。研讨会有两个主要作用:第一,学会用批判且欣赏的眼光来阅读同龄人的作品,这是了解和润色自己作品的最好方法之一。第二,在研讨会中,没有人可以或应该告诉学生如何写作,相比之下,获取各种不同的知识和建议更有用。学会倾听并且回应各种批评性反馈是写作和生活中的一项关键技能。

 

什么样的学生适合上这门课?

任何对创意写作感兴趣的人都适合!这门课既适合刚接触短篇小说的学生,也适合那些已经有写作基础,经常写作的学生。对于那些对小说和创意写作有兴趣或有热情的学生来说,这将非常有帮助。对于那些不喜欢写作或写作困难的学生,或者需要大量写作辅导的学生来说,这可能不是最好的选择。

这节课能够帮助学生提升什么技能?

毋庸置疑,学生将成为更好的作家!Cat老师的目标是帮助学生提高他们语句和故事的写作水平。希望在课程结束时,学生们在写作和口语中都能更加自信地表达自己。加强想象力是核心目标,发展创造性地解决问题的技术也是核心目标。这些课程也强调提高词汇量和批判性阅读技能——这对提高写作能力至关重要。最后,学生将学习如何传递和接受有效的批评反馈。这些技能不仅适用于创造性写作,而且也适用于学生的学术生活和未来的职业生活。

bottom of page

top of page
iStock-1247171756.jpg


Summer Writing Contest Workshop

 

 Summer Writing Contest Workshop

This year’s Writing Workshops will provide students with everything they need to complete a polished piece of work to submit to the writing contests like YoungArts or Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. These pieces could also be used for other journal or contest submissions. Modelled on Ivy League graduate-level writing workshops, these classes are suitable for both beginners and those with existing writing practices. We’ll focus on craft, exploring the chosen genre and the writing process through weekly readings, writing exercises, and discussions. Students will also participate in workshops, helping others improve their writing and receiving feedback on their own work. Classes are limited to six students, so that each student can receive plenty of individual attention.

 

One unique benefit of these classes is that they are enhanced by video lectures. To help students with the difficulty these stories present in vocabulary and style, the instructors makes dynamic reading videos in which they reads the story aloud while defining terms, explaining historical context, and making observations about style and theme.

Students should expect to commit to at least two to three hours of homework between classes. This includes a short weekly reading (around 30 minutes) and time spent drafting their story and/or completing writing exercises.

In this collaborative endeavor, Miss Cat and Tony bring their unique perspectives and teaching styles to provide the students with a comprehensive and enriching writing experience. Join us on this literary journey as we explore the nuances of storytelling, hone your writing skills, and unlock the potential within each narrative. Get ready to embark on a transformative writing adventure with two outstanding mentors by your side. Welcome to the Workshop!

Workshop Summary

Age group: 9th-11th grade

Class size: 6 students

Early bird tuition: $1099/student

Each class includes:

  • Ten weekly, 1.5 hour class meetings, for a total of 15 hours live instruction

  • Six challenging short story reading assignments with accompanying video lectures

  • Recorded classes in case you have to miss a session

  • One full hour of class time devoted to a discussion of your work

  • 1.5 hours of editing (online synchronous editing or offline asynchronous editing) to polish your work

  • A curated list of age-appropriate journals and contests to submit to after class ends

Please contact info@ibridgeeducation.com for registration.

Cat Photo.JPG

About the Instructor

Miss Cat is a professional fiction writer and teacher with over 15 years’ experience helping students of all ages improve their writing. As an admissions essay coach, she has helped students gain acceptance to a number of top colleges and business schools, including Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, UPenn and Stanford. She has been coaching middle and high school creative writers for the last two years and has worked with nearly a dozen students on submissions for the Scholastic Awards specifically. She holds a BA magna cum laude in Music and English from Harvard University and an MFA in Creative Writing from Columbia University, where she was a De Alba Fellow and an Undergraduate Teaching Fellow. Her writing has appeared in Action, Spectacle!, The South Dakota Review, and The Missouri Review. In 2019, she was the recipient of The Missouri Review’s Peden Prize for best story in a volume year. She is currently working on her first novel and is represented by the literary agency Janklow and Nesbit. 

Tony.jpeg

About the Instructor

Tony holds a BA in Philosophy and Film Studies from Amherst College, where he graduated cum laude and won the Film Studies Award, and an MFA in Creative Nonfiction Writing from the University of Iowa, where he designed and taught courses in literature and creative writing and won the Carl Klaus Teaching Award for "outstanding talent as a teacher of creative writing." He has served as an editorial assistant for the Iowa Review and an assistant editor for the London Review of Books. 

Sunday Workshop Schedule

Sunday Class Schedule.png

Wednesday Workshop Schedule

Wednesday Class Schedule.png

Frequently Asked Questions:

Why workshop?

The workshop remains the basic format for most creative writing pedagogy at the undergraduate and graduate levels in the United States; it is also a popular format for elementary writing instruction. The workshop has two key functions. First, learning to read the work of one’s peers with a critical but compassionate eye is one of the best ways to become a better reader and editor of one’s own work. Second, the workshop recognizes that no one person can or should tell you how to write; getting a variety of inputs is more useful. And learning to listen and respond to critical feedback from a variety of sources is a key skill in both writing and life.  

Who is this class suitable for?

Anyone who is interested in creative writing!  It will be most helpful for students who have some interest in or enthusiasm for creative writing. It may not be the best option for students who actively dislike or struggle with writing or need remedial writing help of some kind.

 

What skills will students build in these classes?

Obviously, students will become better writers! I aim to help students improve their writing on both a sentence and story level. We hope that by the end of the class, students will feel more confident expressing themselves thoughtfully in both writing and speaking. Strengthening the imagination is a core goal, as is developing creative problem-solving techniques. These classes also emphasize improving vocabulary and critical reading skills—essential for learning to write well. Finally, students will learn to deliver and receive effective critical feedback. These skills are all applicable not just to creative writing but also throughout students’ academic lives and on into future professional lives as well!

bottom of page